Engagement Party

My now-husband Saam and I both love to celebrate and entertain as much as possible, so when we got engaged, we knew that we wanted to party with our friends and family! We had a cocktail party at a lounge in downtown San Jose called Fahrenheit, which is no longer open. I am always looking for an opportunity to come up with a theme and decor, so we decided to go with black, white and gold – my husband is a huge Oakland Raiders fan so the black and white was a hit with him and I love gold, so this was a good compromise and ended up becoming our primary wedding colors,

I knew that I wanted to use sequined gold linens at our wedding, so I ended up purchasing 10 of them to use for various events (including our wedding) – they were super expensive to rent at the time (and still are!) so buying them seemed to make the most sense. We used a few of them on the cocktail tables at our engagement party to add some sparkle. I also accumulated a bunch of iron wrought tabletop candelabras from my former company’s holiday party, so we used those as centerpieces.

One of my friends (who ended up doing all of the stationary and paper goods for the wedding) designed some really sweet prints that we hung up, and we had some gold tassel garlands strung around the space. We also got some large 36″ balloons with tassels for fun :). One of my favorite personalized touches were the foil printed cocktail napkins with out names and our wedding hashtag printed on them – we loved them so much that we knew we wanted more for our wedding.

It was a great night spent with some of our favorite people, and kicked off our engagement with the first of many celebrations. I highly recommend having an engagement party if possible because it really sets the tone for the rest of the celebrations going forward!

Xo,
Neda

Leave a Reply

